SENATE: 30 APRIL 2025

## REPORTED BUSINESS

## 1. Chair of Senate's Action

On 10 March 2025, the Vice-Chancellor and President took Chair's action on behalf of Senate to grant the title of Emerita Professor on Professor Debbie Bevitt (School for Biomedical, Nutritional and Sport Sciences).

## 2. Deaths

19 February 2025

Max Hammerton. Max was appointed Head of Department of Psychology in 1973. He will be remembered for his passion for military history and for poetry, but also for his noteworthy teaching style. He helped with undergraduate teaching until his late 80s and became Emeritus Professor on his retirement from Psychology in 1989.

22 February 2025

Roger Pain. Roger was first appointed at Newcastle University as a Lecturer in 1965, when he was tasked with setting up the new Biochemistry degree. He was a popular and enthusiastic teacher, noted for his demonstration of conformational entropy by throwing the contents of a box of Quality Street over the assembled students. He served as Head of Department in the 1980s and 1990s. After retiring from Newcastle in 1992, he was made Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and he moved to Ljubljana, Slovenia where he continued working at the Jožef Stefan Institute for over two decades, supporting a new generation of Slovene scientists.

2 March 2025

Evelyne Sermagor. Evelyne joined the University in December 1995 as Senior Lecturer in Neurophysiology. She received a Personal Readership in Developmental Neuroscience in 2011 and was promoted to Personal Chair of Retinal Neuroscience in 2018.

7 March 2025

Wendy Craig. Wendy joined the University in May 1997 as Clerical/Computer Assistant in the Department of Medicine. She was appointed IT Officer in the Institute of Cellular Medicine in December 2008, Information Security Officer (Medical Sciences) in March 2016, latterly based in the Executive and Governance Office, a post she held until her retirement in 2024.

18 March 2025

Lorna Rozner. Dr Lorna Rozner graduated with an MB BS in 1947 and a Diploma in Public Health in 1951. In 2010 she became an Honorary Fellow of the University and was an active and committed member of our alumni community, as one of the founding members of the Graduates' Association.

21 March 2025

John Ollerenshaw. Dr John Ollerenshaw was appointed Lecturer in Crop Botany in the Department of Plant Science in the School of Agriculture in 1972 and promoted to Senior Lecturer in 1985. Following the merger of the Departments of Agricultural Biology, Agricultural Engineering and Soil Science to become the Department of Agricultural and Environmental Science, John was appointed Head of the Department in 1989, a post he held until his retirement in 2005.